skip to Main Content

Ekiti PDP primary: Tension grips aspirants as voting ends, counting begins

Tension has gripped the two aspirants contesting the ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the July 14 governorship election in Ekiti state as voting by delegates in the primary has just ended.

The two aspirants are the Deputy Governor, Prof Kolapo Olusola and a former Minister of State for Works, Prince Dayo Adeyeye. The third aspirant, Senator Abiodun Olujimi, had earlier withdrawn shortly before the commencement of the exercise for Adeyeye, thereby boosting his chances in the contest many observers say would be stiff.

The voting, which started with the members of the state executive, was done local government by local government.

The expression and body languages of the aspirants and their agents indicated that they were agitated tension gripped.

A total of 1, 966 delegates voted in the election conducted by secret ballot and supervised by a team sent by the NWC of the party, led by the Delta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyin Okowa.

Delegates accredited for each of the 16 LGs are follows: members of the state executive members 28; former national and state assembles 38; local government chairmen and vice 32; Ado LG 124; Ekiti West 110; Ise Orun 115; Ikere 117; Irepodun/Ifelodun 99; Idols 128 and Ikole 128. Others are Emure 109; Moba 120; Ekiti S’West 116. Efon 105; Gbonyin 109; Ilejemeje 108; Ekiti East 131; Oye 126; Ijero 123 while the last local government, Ido-Osi 113, had delegates.

The two aspirants and Governor Ayodele Fayose were last to cast their votes at 5. 07pm when voting ended.

The two aspirants expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the exercise and promised to cooperate with whoever emerged as the candidate of the party to ensure the victory of the PDP in the July 14 election.

Leave a Comment...
Back To Top