skip to Main Content

Journalists, aides bar from Assembly complex as Oyo lawmakers elect new Speaker, others

Journalists who were at the premises of Oyo State House of Assembly complex to monitor the proceeding of the Assembly in the selection of the new Speaker in the state and Aides of some of the lawmakers and other members of the public were Tuesday morning barred from entering the premises by the security agents deployed to mount the entrance of the Assembly complex.

DAILY POST Correspondent who was among the journalists that were barred from entering the Assembly complex observed that there was tight security around the premises as the lawmakers moved into a closed session to elect their new leaders.

DAILY POST recalls that the former Speaker, Hon. Michael Adeyemo died on Friday, 27th of April this year at the age of 47. 

One of the Aides of a lawmaker from Ibadan who was also prevented from entering the Assembly complex said such had never happened before.

He said, “This has never happened in the state, they are denying journalists to enter. This is the first time. We are not here to foment trouble”.

When asked, one of the security agents at the gate said that, “Only those on the list will be allowed to enter”.

” I don’t know, they gave us a list, please, that is the instruction given to us. We can’t allow you to enter. You know we are doing our work”.

It was, however, learnt that the Minority Leader of the House, Hon. Olagunju Ojo who represents Orire State Constituency has been elected as the new Speaker.

Ojo, DAILY POST gathered emerged unopposed after the Deputy Speaker, AbdulWasi Musa and Hon. Segun Ajanaku backed out from the race.

Ojo is believed to be the oldest and most experienced member of the Assembly.

He was Deputy Speaker of the Assembly from 1999 to 2003; and Deputy Governorship aspirant of the Action Congress in Oyo State, between 2006 and 2007.

He was elected under the platform of Labour Party before he defected to the ruling APC.

The lawmaker representing Ibadan South East Constituency 2, Hon. Akeem Ademola Ige was also elected as the new Minority Leader of the House.

Ige who was elected under the platform of Accord Party and now in PDP becomes the Minority Leader after Ojo was announced as the new Speaker.

It was learnt that Ige was nominated by Hon. Joshua Oyebamiji (Akinyele I) and seconded by Hon. Gbenga Oyekoka (Atiba)

Leave a Comment...
Back To Top