skip to Main Content

Lagos APC faction faults Oyegun’s inauguration of rival chairman, Balogun

The Fouad Oki-led faction of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos on Tuesday faulted the inauguration of Alhaji Tunde Balogun as the state party chairman by the National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun on Monday.

Oki, who convened a parallel state congress of the party on May 19, faulted the action in a statement he issued in Lagos.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Balogun, who emerged at the main congress at the party secretariat in Ikeja, was inaugurated by Oyegun along with 33 other state chairmen at the APC national secretariat in Abuja.

The inauguration of Balogun was in contrast with an earlier decision of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party which overruled the main congress over issues of legality.

The national publicity secretary of the party, Malam Bolaji Abdullahi had explained that the NWC overruled the main congress held at the ACME Road Secretariat because it was based on 57 councils instead of the constitutional 20 local councils.

He added that the party could not have discountenanced the congress organised by Oki as it was held in the recognised 20 council areas.

The spokesman, however, said a five-man committee, headed by the Deputy National Chairman(North) had been set up to resolve the knotty issues.

However, Oyegun, at the inauguration, told the new chairmen in states like Lagos, Rivers and others not to inaugurate executive members as the party was working on harmonising committee members in the affected states.

But Oki accused Oyegun as being compromised and said his group would do everything possible to challenge “the illegality”.

“I am certain we have not not heard the last of this. Truth is we knew they were going to do what they did because the Oyegun-led NWC is full of weaklings.

“But we are undaunted in our resolve and we will continue to show resilience on the struggle to free our people from the shackles of a bigot,” he said.

Oki called on President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osnibajo to prevail on Oyegun-led NWC to reverse the inauguration.

He also called on NWC members to do everything possible to ensure that its earlier decision on congresses was upheld.

Meanwhile, the state chairmen sworn in by Oyegun and their states are as follows: Hon. Donatus E. Nwankpa (Abia), Alh. Ibrahim Bilal (Adamawa), Hon. Ini Okopido (Akwa Ibom), Barr. Emeka Ibe (Anambra), Alh Uba Ahmed Nana (Bauchi), Jonathan L. Amos (Bayelsa), Comrade Abba Yari (Benue), Hon. Ali Bukar Dalori (Borno), Hon. Godwin Etim John(Cross River), Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo (Delta), Pastor Eze Nwachukwu Eze(Ebonyi), Anslem U. Ojezua (Edo), Dr. Ben Nwoye (Enugu), Nitte K. Amangal(Gombe), Dr. Hillary Eke (Imo), Hon. Ado Sani Kiri (Jigawa).

Others includes: Rtd. Air Commodore Emmanuel Jekeda (Kaduna), Abdullahi Abass (Kano), Shittu S. Shittu (Katsina), Arc. Bala Sani Kangiwa (Kebbi), Abdullahi Bello (Kogi), Hon. Ishola Balogun Fulani (Kwara), Alh. Tunde Balogun (Lagos), Philip Tatari Shekwo (Nasarawa), Engr. Muhammed Liman (Niger), Chief Dikia Adebisi (Ogun), Engr. Ade Adetimehin (Ondo), Chief Akin Oke (Oyo), Hon. Letep M. Dabang (Plateau), Ojukaye Amachree (Rivers), Hon. Isa S. Achida (Sokoto), Alh. Abdulmumini Vaki (Taraba), Alh. Adamu Chilariye (Yobe), Alh. Lawal M. Liman (Zamfara), Hon. Abdulmalik Usman (FCT)

Leave a Comment...